home > about us > board of advisors

 Board of Advisors



The Board of Advisors, composed of leading community members and business leaders from across the state of Alabama, assist the Center for Ethics & Social Responsibility in living out its mission and implementing initiatives.  Members advise the director and staff of CESR on the direction and strategy of program growth, contribute to decision-making on various matters of Center policy, and provide recommendations in expanding the scope of influence beyond UA and its alumni networks.


The CESR Advisory Board was appointed in June 2006, with the approval of the Provost and President.  The board meets at least twice a year, to evaluate each year’s strategic plan and assess mid-year progress.


The Board of Advisors consists of:


Ann Bedsole

Sybil Smith Charitable Trust


Carl Burkhalter

Maynard, Cooper, and Gayle


Corey Ealons

Office of Congressman Artur Davis


James P. “Jim” Hayes

Economic Development Partnership of Alabama


James F. “Jim” Hughey, III

Lightfoot, Franklin, & White, L.L.C.


John D. Johns

Protective Life Corporation


Catherine Randall


Jera G. Stribling

Joseph F. Bruno Charitable Foundation


Laurie Weil