home > programs & activities > moral forum > fall 2007

Moral Forum

Fall 2007






In order to be a moral/just society, the United States Congress should pass the Development, Relief and Education for Alien Minors Act (the DREAM Act).  The Dream Act would provide a path to citizenship for illegal immigrants who entered the country before they turned 16, have lived here at least five years, have no criminal record and have graduated from high school or have been admitted to college.  The students would be granted a six-year provisional legal status during which they must attend college (for two years) or serve in the military for at least two years before being eligible for citizenship.  The legislation would also repeal the federal law discouraging states from providing in-state tuition to illegal aliens.


Fall 2007 Course


42 students were enrolled in five sections of UH 101: Moral Forum in Fall 2007. Guest lecturers included Mark Nelson (Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs), Chase Wrenn (Associate Professor, Philosophy), and Bob McKenzie (UA faculty emeritus and Senior Associate, The Kettering Foundation). View the Fall 2007 syllabus for more course details, a reading list, and additional information.


Third Annual Moral Forum Tournament


In front of an audience of more than 300, the UA for Ethics & Social Responsibility hosted the final round of the third annual Moral Forum Tournament on Friday, October 26, 2007. In a very engaging debate, freshman Joshua Davenport and sophomore Connor Johnson edged out sophomores David Lindsay and William Schildknecht to become the 2007 Moral Forum champions. 


Scholarship awards totaling $13,000 were presented at the event. Recipients included:


Champions: Awarded $2,000 each

Connor Johnson

Joshua Davenport

2007 winners 

Finalists: Awarded $2,000 each

William A. Schildknecht

David Lindsay


Semi-Finalists: Awarded $500 each

James T. Dawkins

Jameson Hughes

John B. Hammontree

JW Snider


Outstanding Written Case: Awarded $1,000

JW Snider


Outstanding Vision Statement: Awarded $500 each

James T. Dawkins

John B. Hammontree


Outstanding Individual Debater: Awarded $1,000 each

William Bloom