RERC08Logo.gif25th Rare Earth Research Conference (RERC08)

June 22-26, 2008

The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL






RERC08 Program

RERC08 Attendees

RERC08 Pictures



The program of the 25th Rare Earth Research Conference (RERC08) integrated basic and applied multidisciplinary research centered on the f-elements.Leading science was featured in the form of invited oral presentations and contributed posters on topics in f-element chemistry, physics, and material, earth, environmental, and biological sciences.Highlighting the program was the presentation of the Frank H. Spedding Award for excellence in rare earth research.

The Rare Earth Research Conferences (North America) alternates on a three year cycle with the International Conference on f-Elements (Europe) and the International Conference on Rare Earths (rest of the world). The 25th Rare Earth Research Conference in Alabama, followed the successful 24th RERC in Keystone, Colorado held June, 2005.



Topical Themes

Solid State and Coordination Chemistry
Organometallic Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry
Environmental Chemistry
Condensed Matter Physics & Magnetism
Ionic Liquids and Molten Salts
Separations Science
Mass Spectrometry
Spectroscopy and Optical Materials
Functional Materials
Oxide Materials
Nuclear Materials Research
Medicinal Applications


Plenary Lectures

Spedding Awardee: William J. Evans (University of California, Irvine)
Paul C. Canfield (Iowa State University/Ames Laboratory)
Luis Echegoyen (U.S. National Science Foundation)
John C. Miller (U.S. Department of Energy)
Lynne Soderholm (Argonne National Laboratory)
Hiroshi Tsukube (Osaka City University)


Invited Lectures

Hwan Kyu Kim (Korea University)
Polly Arnold (University of Edinburgh)
Frederic Aubriet (University of Metz)
David Berg (University of Victoria, Canada)
Aurora Clark (Washington State University)
Bert deJong (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
Carsten Detlefs (ESRF Grenoble)
Pieter Dorenbos (Delft University of Technology)
David Emslie (McMaster University, Canada)
Gregory Faris (SRI International)
Gary Groenewold (Idaho National Laboratory)
David Hobbs (Savannah River National Laboratory)
Zhaomin Hou (RIKEN Discovery Research Institute, Japan)
Arthur Mar (University of Alberta)
Marinella Mazzanti (CEA-Grenoble, France)
Maria Miritello (University of Catania)
Francois Nief (Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Jun Okuda (Aachen University)
Stephane Petoud (University of Pittsburg)
Annie Powell (University of Karlsruhe)
Monica Regalbuto (Argonne National Laboratory)
Don (Dong-Kyun) Seo (Arizona State University)
Toshiro Takabatake (Hiroshima University)
Enzo Terreno (University of Torino)
Michael J Van Stipdonk (Wichita State University)
Xiaojun Wang (Georgia Southern University)


Program Committee

Dr. John Sarrao: (Program Chair)
Jean-Claude Bunzli, Lausanne (bio/med applications)
Paul Canfield, Iowa State/Ames Laboratory (condensed matter physics and magnetism)
Julia Chan, Louisiana State (solid state/coordination chemistry)
Dhanesh Chandra, University of Nevada-Reno (materials science)
Sue Clark, Washington State (environmental chemistry)
Dave Dixon, Alabama (theoretical chemistry)
Anita Gianotto, INL (mass spectroscopy)
Gordon Jarvinen, Los Alamos (nuclear materials)
Jackie Kiplinger, Los Alamos (organometallic chemistry)
Guo-Kui Liu, Argonne (spectroscopy)
Anja Mudring, Bochum (ionic liquids)
Ann Visser, Savannah River (separations science)
Zhiping Zheng, Arizona (functional materials)

Proceedings Editors:

Peter Dorhout, Editor: Peter.Dorhout@ColoState.EDU
Vitalij Pecharsky, Editor:
Michael Reid, Chief Editor:


Spedding Award:

A highlight of the meeting was the recognition of the accomplishments of an internationally-recognized scientist, Professor William Evans, with the presentation of the Spedding Award.  This prestigious award is given in recognition of excellence and achievement in research centered on the science and technology of rare earths.  The awardee is selected by a committee from submitted nominations.The award consists of a medal mounted on a plaque and a monetary sum of $1,000, sponsored by Bracco Research USA Inc.The Spedding Award winner was asked to present a lecture on the highlights of his or her work at the meeting. 


Spedding Award Organizer and Committee Chair:

Dr. Peter Dorhout: Peter.Dorhout@ColoState.EDU




The conference was be held in Shelby Hall, located on The University of Alabamaís Tuscaloosa, AL campus.  Directions from the closest airport (Birmingham, AL) to Tuscaloosa (ca. 60 miles) and to the Shelby Hall, are located at URL



Conference Office and Contacts:


RERC08 Office

Center for Green Manufacturing

Box 870204

The University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa, AL 35487 USA


+1-205/348-0823 (FAX)




Conference Chair: Dr. Robin D. Rogers:

Program Chair: Dr. John Sarrao:
Spedding Award Organizer: Dr. Peter Dorhout:
Conference Assistant: Ms. Mihaela Gurau: 


International Advisory Committee:
J.-C. Bunzli (Switzerland)
Ji Chen (China)
David A. Dixon (USA)

Anja Mudring (Germany)
Dale L. Perry (USA)

J. Takats (Canada)

M. F. Tweedle (USA)
A. E. Visser (USA)




The following sponsors and exhibitors are gratefully acknowledged.


Bracco Research USA Inc.


U.S. DOE Office of Basic Energy Sciences


Ames Laboratory


Argonne National Laboratory


        Center for Green Manufacturing                          

The University of Alabama                     

Department of Chemistry

College of Arts and Sciences

Office for Sponsored Programs


                                        Ionic Liquid Laboratory (QUILL)         

The Queen's University of Belfast                        

School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering