11th International Conference on Partitioning in Aqueous Two-Phase Systems

June 27 - July 2, 1999
Gulf State Park Resort
Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

The 1999 Biennial Aqueous Two Phase Partitioning Award

Professor Göte Johansson

The 1999 Biennial Aqueous Two Phase Partitioning Award, for outstanding contributions to the practice and understanding of partitioning in Aqueous Two-Phase Systems goes to Professor Göte Johansson of the Department of Biochemistry at Lund's University in Sweden. He received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Umea's University in 1973, and in 1997 he moved to Lund's University. Since 1970 he has published over 130 papers, most of which involve partition in aqueous two phase systems. Göte significantly contributes to Phase Partitioning in at least three ways. The first is via original work involving various aspects of the technology - including physicochemical characterization of phase systems, testing of novel apparatus, development of novel phase systems, and utilization of polymer modified affinity ligands. It also includes both analytical and preparative use of the technology. The second involves studying a wide range of fractionation challenges - from ions, to low molecular weight compounds, to polymers or proteins, and various biological particles. His third contribution involves spreading the technology to research groups in a variety of countries. This is accomplished via literature editing, being a visiting scientist for extended periods of time, and continually supporting the biennial Phase Partition Meetings.

James M. Van Alstine

Professor Göte Johansson (left) is presented the Biennial Aqueous Two Phase Partitioning Award by Professor James M. Van Alstine (center) and Professor Robin D. Rogers